Boards, Commissions & Task Force of Dumas Government

The City of Dumas could not run without the input from dedicated, energetic citizens willing to dedicate their time and knowledge to help better our community.  Below is a list of various boards that require that dedicated spirit.

Parks & Recreation Board - Established by Ord. # 639 on 3-17-75 and amended by Ord. # 792 on 6-1-87.   Seven members, staggered terms of one year, two years, and three years. Charter states that this board meet every month and serve 3 year terms.

Planning and Zoning Commission - Established by Ord. # 501 on 7-6-64; amended 7-7-67; amended by Ord. # 583 on 3-16-70; amended by Ord. # 674 on 9-19-77, seven member commission.  Amended by Ord. # 980 on 12-15-03, five member commission with three members serving two year terms and two members serving three year terms, city commission appointing one of its own members as ex-officio.

D.E.D.C. Board of Directors - Established 4-6-98 under Section 4B of the Development Corporation Act.  Seven member board, four who may be members of the City Commission and three who shall not be officers or employees of the City of Dumas or City Commission.  City manager shall be a non-voting ex-officio member.  Staggered two year terms.

Other Boards are listed below:  

Christmas Decoration Committee
Candy Cane Lane Committee
Dumas Civic Pride Committee
Golf Committee
Zoning Board of Adjustment